Collection of National Identity Card details to be conducted at ward level

2 weeks ago 20

Kathmandu, June 24

The Ministry of Home Affairs has announced that the collection of details for the national identity card will now be conducted at the ward level in 28 districts. This decision comes in response to the increasing crowds of service seekers at the District Administration Offices for social security allowances.

The Ministry has instructed the Chief District Officers of these districts to coordinate with local authorities to facilitate the new process. Narayan Bhattarai, the spokesperson for the Ministry, stated that the change aims to address complaints about overcrowding at the district offices by decentralizing the process to the local level.

To support this initiative, the Ministry has deployed 438 technicians across the 28 districts. Additionally, the Department of Home Affairs has issued a notice stating that, following a Cabinet decision on June 7, possessing a national identity card has become mandatory for service seekers in the designated districts to receive social security allowances.

The districts affected by this new mandate include Jhapa, Rautahat, Rupandehi, Morang, Sarlahi, Kapilvastu, Sunsari, Kathmandu, Dang, Udayapur, Bhaktapur, Banke, Saptari, Lalitpur, Bardiya, Siraha, Sindhuli, Surkhet, Dhanusha, Makwanpur, Kailali, Mahottari, Chitwan, Kanchanpur, Bara, Kaski, Parsa, and Tanahun.

Read Entire Article